Choices

Posted: January 21, 2010 in Friends, Health, Life, Work
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well its 05:00, always a nice time to try to end the day.

A lot has happened the past few weeks. Ended up in the ER a bunch several days last week due to 1 migraine and then a GI bleed that wouldn’t stop.

Migraine went as they usually do. Go in, wait in my darkened room, talk to the doctor or PA. They check me out. Call my mom to come get me. Get my shot of dilaudid and phenergan. Wait 20 minutes (more like 40 in some cases, though I have been able to leave before 20 minutes a few times). Leave. Then home to bed.

Well that night I had been feeling pretty nauseous and had some abdominal pain over the stomach (more so than I had been with the migraine, which I hadn’t had any vomiting with, just nausea). It intensified a bit and I ran off to the bathroom and produced quite a bit of blood. I went to throw on some clothes and get to the ER across the street. Managed to find a cup which came in handy to vomit in (proof even). Got in there fairly quick and taken back. I saw a PA I had seen back in March of last year when something like this had happened (with much less blood). He got me checked out some, gave me some pain and nausea meds and had me do some orthostatic vitals. (Thats where they take your bp/pulse/o2 sat laying down, sitting up, standing up). My pressure was low and pulse was low laying down, on sitting up, pressure dropped a little and HR increased, standing up made me pretty dizzy and BP dropped a lot and HR went up to about 138.
Laid back down and waited some more, he came back in and did a rectal exam to check for blood there, and pressed on my abdomen some to check for tenderness, etc. Pain had increased quite a bit so got me some more pain meds and a big helping of zofran for the nausea. Anyway the doctor over that PA came in and talked to me (I had seen him back in September for my last bleed which got me admitted) said he was gonna let me go home (As my nurse is coming in with the fluids the PA had ordered) but told me to return if I vomited any more blood, felt weaker, anything like that. Came home and slept since I hadn’t slept any and when I got up was still bleeding so went back in. This time they put me in the Fast Track area (for cases such as headaches, colds, back pain, things that aren’t too serious at present). The PA that examined me just didn’t seem like he knew what to do. He said he would get me some protonix for the pain, and some zofran for my nausea. Okay, well the protonix never came and I finally got my Zofran when I was leaving. They did another H&H on me, my hemoglobin and such had dropped some since that morning. He did a rectal exam as well, he seemed nervous about it, more so than I was. He was nice about it all though just seemed like he was afraid of those things (can’t blame him in some cases haha). But got discharged and said to make an appointment with my doctor. Well I see him on Tuesday but the bleeding finally stopped, I can tell I lost a bit of blood due to the weakness and I’m sure my HGB is low low low.

I got to watch Cory play some music today! Was pretty cool, he used his webcam and some site to stream it to live. Hes pretty awesome!

I’ve been considering a career lately. Its actually something I’ve wanted to do for most of my life. Joining the military. I’ve wanted to be a Marine as far back as I can remember, but I don’t think I could make it through their training at this point. I’ve been looking into the Army Reserve. This would allow me to be able to work and to also serve if called upon. Maybe even go fulltime if I like it well enough. I’m not going to jump right into it just yet though. I have a lot of thinking to do on it. I have some stuff I want to see how it turns out first, and depending on the result, then I can proceed forward or stick with the other stuff.

Ok time for sleep..

Leave a Reply

